skip navigation

Faculty

Core Faculty

Jürgen Bohnemeyer Jürgen Bohnemeyer (jb77@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 642 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0127

Semantic typology, Conceptual and Formal Semantics, the Syntax-Semantics Interface, the Semantics-Pragmatics Interface, Linguistic Anthropology, Mesoamerican Languages

Candelas-thumb Abigaël Candelas de la Ossa (abigaelc@buffalo.edu)
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: 627 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0116

Sociolinguistics, Pragmatics, Legal and Institutional Discourse, Corpus Linguistics, Variation, Discourse Analysis

Rui Chaves Rui P. Chaves (rchaves@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 604 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0133

Syntax, Syntax-Semantics Interface, Constraint-Based Grammar, Long-Distance Dependencies, Coordination, Experimental Syntax, and Grammar Implementation

Christian DiCanio Christian DiCanio (cdicanio@buffalo.edu)
Assistant Professor
Office: 601 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0113

Acoustic and Articulatory Phonetics, Corpus Phonetics, Phonology, Lexical Tone, Prosody, Fieldwork, and Oto-Manguean Languages

Matthew S. Dryer (dryer@buffalo.edu)
Professor
Office: 616 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0122

Typology, Syntax, Language Documentation (especially Papuan languages)

David Fertig David Fertig (fertig@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 638 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0129

Germanic Linguistics, Historical linguistics, Dialectology, Sociolinguistics, Morphology, and Phonology

Jeff Good Jeff Good (jcgood@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 613 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0126

Morphosyntactic typology, Niger-Congo languages, language documentation

Robert Hoeing Robert Hoeing (rghoeing@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 639 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0130

German Syntax, Syntactic Theory, and Business German

Jean-Pierre Koenig Jean-Pierre Koenig (jpkoenig@buffalo.edu)
Professor
ChairOffice: 612 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-8482

Syntax, Semantics, Psycholinguistics

EunHee Lee EunHee Lee (ehlee@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 623 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0125

Korean Linguistics, Second Language Acquisition, Semantics

Karin Michelson Karin Michelson (kmich@buffalo.edu)
Professor
Office: 602 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-2463

Iroquoian Languages, Phonology, Morphology, Lexical Semantics, Historical Linguistics, and Field Linguistics

John K. Pate John K. Pate (johnpate@buffalo.edu)
Assistant Professor
Office: 610 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-2177

Computational linguistics, language acquisition, grammar induction,  Bayesian models, unsupervised learning, corpus linguistics, information-theoretic accounts of language use

Mitsuaki Shimojo Mitsuaki Shimojo (shimojo@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor
Office: 640 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0131

Japanese linguistics, Syntax, and Discourse

Robert D. Van Valin, Jr. Robert D. Van Valin, Jr. (vanvalin@buffalo.edu)
Professor
Office: 627 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0115

Syntax, Language Acquisition, Lakhota, and Yatee Zapotec

Emeritus Faculty

Jeri J. Jaeger Jeri J. Jaeger (jjaeger@buffalo.edu)
Professor Emeritus

Phonetics, Phonology, Psycholinguistics, Neurolinguistics, and Language Acquisition

Madeleine Mathiot Madeleine Mathiot (mathiotm@buffalo.edu)
Professor Emeritus
Office: 611 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0119

Field Linguistics, Ethnosemantics, Lexicology, Semiotics, and Discourse

Leonard Talmy Leonard Talmy (talmy@buffalo.edu)
Professor Emeritus

Cognitive Semantics, and Typology and Universals

Wolfgang Wölck Wolfgang Wölck (wwolck@acsu.buffalo.edu)
Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus
Office: 629 Baldy Hall
Phone: (716) 645-0128

Diglossia, Bilingualism, and Sociolinguistics

David A. Zubin David A. Zubin (linzubin@acsu.buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor Emeritus

Categorization Theory, Typology, and Discourse

Affiliated Faculty

Janina Brutt-Griffler Janina Brutt-Griffler (bruttg@buffalo.edu)
Professor of Foreign Language Education
Director of Polish Studies
Paul Luce Paul Luce (luce@buffalo.edu)
Professor of Psychology
Gail Mauner Gail Mauner (mauner@buffalo.edu)
Associate Professor of Psychology
Roger Woodard Roger Woodard (rwoodard@buffalo.edu)
Andrew V. V. Raymond Professor of Classics